Rose Tremain

Not one, but four authors were honoured for writing the best second novels of 1999 in the Encore Award’s tenth anniversary year. John Burnside, Claire Messud, Matt Thorne and Phil Whitaker were each presented with £2,500 by one of the country’s leading novelists, Rose Tremain, at a reception at the Serpentine Gallery, London.  more